Everglades Challenge Celebration

March 22, 2018 @ 7:00 pm

In addition to registering for the 2018 Thursday night series, please join us to recognize the outstanding performance of three Davis Island YC teams in the recent WaterTribe adventure race that set sail from Fort DeSoto Beach.

Competing against the elements and a hardy crowd of small-craft mariners in their inaugural efforts, Andy “Andyman” Hayward won line honors in the 64-mile Ultra Marathon and Dave “DeSea” Clement and Chris “CCock” Growcock took top overall honors in the 300-mile Everglades Challenge.  Veteran Challengers Jeff “TwoBeers” Linton and Jahn Tihansky won their class and broke the two-man team record on the sprint to Key Largo.

They sailed in a range of vessels, from Andyman’s SeaPearl to CCock’s Prindle 19, to the OH-Rodgers designed sloop Spawn.

The heroes will be on hand to share battle stories and photos. DeSea’s slide show is slated to begin at around 7:30.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.